Author Archives: michellehowardwrites

Jaron’s Promise-excerpt

I’m switching to holiday mode but I have to remind myself to keep working until the actual Christmas Day. BUT as a small gift for fans of A World Beyond, I’m sharing another excerpt.  I’m so excited about this release 🙂 I think readers are going to fall in love with Jaron.

kobo  barnes and noble ibooks  Amazon link coming next month

Releases February 14, 2018

(unedited excerpt-subject to minor changes)

“Interesting isn’t it?”

Jaron faced Dr. Kirkem worried he’d revealed his thoughts. He sat up and braced his elbows on his knees. “What is?”

The Collector continued staring at the screen as he responded. “Attachments are created in the oddest situations.”

A guard entered the room and went straight to the blue skinned Ari. Unable to do anything, Jaron watched as the already weakened alien race was hit repeatedly with a shock stick until he collapsed in a shuddering ball on the floor. Eyes narrowed, Jaron breathed through his nose and didn’t say anything.

“Nature creates this instinct to form bonds,” Dr. Kirkem continued. “Even when we don’t want them. That’s what happened with me and my Joni. Something about her drew me.”

Jaron’s breath hitched as the guard stopped before a growling Sasha. Everything in him stilled. His heart took off, the beats banging against his chest and he wasn’t sure how he’d react if forced to witness an attack on her.

“Now here is where I get sentimental. Out of my care for Joni, I offer you a choice, Jutak.”

The guard dragged a wicked sharp knife from the leather about his waist. Jaron’s fingers flexed but he kept them on his knees and turned his attention toward Dr. Kirkem. Whatever he heard wouldn’t be good. Nothing that happened here was good and it didn’t pay to pretend otherwise.

When Jaron didn’t answer, Dr. Kirkem squeezed his hand tight on the data pad. The small tell concerned Jaron but not as much as wondering what he planned next. “Here’s my offer. The Argoran or the Earth woman.”

Forcing himself to stay in his chair and not go for the crazy scientist. He couldn’t fathom the question. “What about them?”

“You disappoint me.” Dr. Kirkem tapped a few keys then lifted the data pad to his mouth. “The Earthling.”

The guard spun away from Sasha and approached the other cell. He entered and ignored Luna’s pleas. Jaron shot to his feet but when Dr. Kirkem held up his other hand with a remote, Jaron fisted his hands at his side, chest heaving.

On screen, the first slash went across Luna’s hip, spraying blood. Jaron bit his inner cheek, the pain jolting him. He kept his voice low and calm. “Stop hurting her.”

“Sit now!” Dr. Kirkem roared, his eyes flaring with the light of madness.

Another slash and Luna screamed.

 

 

Advertisements

Tis the season-Print books

All of my print books have been discounted. Know a reader who loves print? Gift them a book or stuff their stocking with an exciting Warlord or one of my sexy World Beyond soldiers.

amazon


Jaron’s Promise-cover reveal

Book 6 for A World Beyond is coming soon! Oh yeah, oh yeah. If you haven’t seen or heard the news, let me share-Jaron’s Promise is up next. Here’s the cover that I’ve held on to just waiting to share.

oohhhh, pretty. LOL. I’m working on the back blurb and should have that soon. So far its live on ibooks , kobo , BN and Tolino for my German readers. Amazon links are coming. Now a tiny little peek inside.

excerpt

***

Pulse skipping, Jaron held his breath and released it slowly. Lothar. It had to be. Movement from the left pulled his gaze away. The vehicle sped into the clearing and skidded to a rough stop. The business partner. Now they’d find out if The Collector was involved. “We have an unknown party heading this way.”

A slender man exited the lone hover-car pulling onto the air strip. Jaron studied the confident walk, the arrogant tilt to the dark head. “I need an identity on the new arrival. Now.”

“Sensors picking up two life forms still in the hover-car. As for the shuttle, some sort of shielding is preventing us from getting a confirmed reading. Not sure how many its carrying but specs reveal it capable of holding seven passengers.”

“Acknowledged, Arak.” Jaron lowered his head to the ground, his chin brushing the dewy grass. His gaze locked back onto the entrance of the shuttle.

Come on. Come on. He needed it to be Lothar.

Black boots appeared first in the entry way then the bulky frame of a Marenian with burnished skin of red gold and curved black horns jutting from the sides of his head.

“Confirmation of target. Lothar disembarking.” Jaron’s heart sped up at finally confronting the head of the slave trade spreading throughout their part of the world.

 


Nano ends today

And I bombed. Yep, complete crash and burn. I have lots of excuses. Rydak’s Fall released, Trial by Flame released, I’m self editing a February release and I worked on two books that were difficult to find my groove. As a result without doing last ditch acrobatics, I’m pretty sure I’m finishing the month with 24k and some change. *sigh* I wont let this get me down. There’s next year. It was fun to sprint and meet new and old writer friends as they took up the challenge.

In other news, Jaron’s Promise will be the next release in A World Beyond. I can’t wait for everyone to meet his heroine and watch the two of them explode together. I’ll have the cover ready to post Friday. My newsletter subscribers saw it months ago and now I get to share it with everyone. Maybe sneak a little look at the book for everyone too 🙂


New Release Here

BN Amazon ibooks Kobo Print

It’s here! It’s here! If you love dragons, steamy times and strong heroines, you don’t want to miss out. Get it today and read over the holidays

BN Amazon ibooks Kobo Print